>My Chili Recipe

>

Alright friends, you can thank me later for this. I’ve been making chili that was loosely based off of a couple of recipes for awhile now. And whenever I make it, I almost always wing it and I never manage to write down the ingredients, amounts, and directions. So, today, I did my best and here it is. In short, it is adapted from a publication from Crossfit, a workout program that endorses the Zone Diet and their model for optimal nutrition. Since I really love balanced meals with quality protein, carbs and fats, this chili hits all three of these.

My disclaimer: This recipe can be modified in so many ways, and I usually eyeball the ingredients and substitute when needed. I hate measuring things so when possible I just use the entire item or can instead of measuring it out carefully. You can omit and add items as you like, but personally, I like the combination of flavors as I have it below. This recipe is also very healthy in my opinion, but I have certainly added things in the past like sour cream, cheddar cheese, or beef with a higher fat content. So, give it a try. It’s not your average or traditional chili, but is heavy on texture and flavor.

In a large frying pan, saute the following:

  • 1/2 onion, chopped (comes out to about a cup)
  • 2 green peppers, chopped
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1tsp crushed red pepper ( I have subbed tabasco sauce before too)
  • 1tbsp + chopped garlic (I use the stuff in the jar when I want to do it quickly… or you can use 3+ cloves crushed and chopped)

Once the peppers start to cook and soften, add:

  • 1 to 1.5 lbs lean ground beef

Once it is browned, add:

  • 1 can drained black beans
  • 1 cup drained kidney beans (1 whole can is a little much for my taste)
  • 2 cups tomato sauce (sometimes I use one 8 ounce can tomato sauce and 1 cup mild to med. salsa. You can also substitute canned or fresh diced tomatoes)
  • 1 can black olives, sliced (Noah usually sneaks some out of the can first, but afull can makes this chili really heavy on olives, so you decide how much!)

Let boil up, and then simmer for 15 minutes or more. About 10 minutes prior to serving, add:

  • Fresh chopped cilantro

Finished product:

Leave a Reply

