what the heck am i doing?

With four weeks left (give or take) until our baby girl arrives, I find myself in full nesting mode… trying to get every unfinished project finished. Bedroom re-do is not anywhere close to what I’d like it to be, but it’s at a decent stopping point at least. There are babyclothes washed and ready, but other than that I have plenty of things to do baby-wise. Maybe I should pack a bag for the hospital, perhaps? So, in the midst of crossing items off the to-do list, I decided to give another big push towards finishing my red, white, blue quilt. It’s large, there are lots of blocks, I’m not really loving it yet, and as I’m furiously sewing and ironing I keep thinking, “What the heck am I doing?” I’ll post a little more on the evolution of this quilt at a later date, but here was the state of my living room floor last night:

Yep, that’s 130 disappearing nine-patch blocks that need to be sewn together if you took the time to count (not that you would).   I need to get them sewn together ASAP so I can finish the quilt top… which is the bare minimum of what I’d like to get accomplished before this baby arrives, but I think I can get farther than that.

Noah’s reaction when he came home from work was priceless, “holy s, girl… you’re sure going for it.”  Yep.  I sure am.

In other “What the heck am I doing” news, I’ve been working on switching our blog from Blogger to WordPress… the reason for which deserves it’s own post all together.  So thanks for reading this on this new site!  Stay tuned!

8 thoughts on “what the heck am i doing?

  1. Nesting gets close, Miss Kris. Dang, girl! Yes, pack a bag for the hospital and then quilt away. It is lovely. Not sure why you’re not loving it…I am =) AND YOU! Aunt Cheryl

    • It’s growing on me now that I have all the blocks and the backing done. Now I just need to sandwich them together, quilt it, and bind it. And the bag is packed now, btw. 🙂 xoxo

  2. Your quilt looks great! I am warming up to the new blog. It will be fun to see how you develop it. Anything you do is so creative! Love you….Mommy

  3. Great quilt! Lots of detail. I love this blog too. You are so creative. Please send some of your nesting energy my way. 🙂

  4. Love your quilt top! I’ve always wanted to make a red white blue quilt, esp. since I have a son born on July 4th! And of course I have the fabrics, I’ve been saving (hoarding?) them for years.

    • Thanks, Aunt Linda! I started collecting the red, white, and blue fabric about a year ago, and Noah suggested a picnic blanket/ beach blanket, so I went with it! I really missed seeing you and everyone at the wedding… wish we could have been there. xoxo.

  5. Pingback: What the heck am I doing, part II | theendofthealphabet

Leave a Reply

