what the heck am i doing, part II

So, a few weeks ago, I admitted to myself that I may have gone crazy.  In the same vein of,  “what the heck am i doing?” I’ve created a New Blog… same stuff, different web address and such.  I guess making the change over only makes sense when you’re busy chasing a toddler around, nine months pregnant, with a to-do list of nesting type things only makes sense right?

Thank you to anyone who has linked over from my old blog… I won’t be updating there anymore, as I felt now was the time, if ever, to make a change.  New baby, new blog, easy to have people check this new site when friends and family care to see what’s going on with us and our little ones.  Now that I’ve been playing with the idea of using WordPress for a month or so, not quite sure if I wanted to give up the other, I’ve made up my mind, and there’s no turning back now! This one seems much more up my alley as far as posting and editing goes, plus the design aesthetic is much better.  A few years ago when I started my first blog, I really had no idea what I was doing.

A few things everyone should keep in mind when starting a blog for the first time?  Here’s my take on it…

1) Blogging takes time.  Trying to write, post, and just blog in general while tackling my first year of teaching was not realistic for me.  I had way too much on my plate.  It is something you have to carve out time for.

2) Choose your name(s) carefully.  I just labeled the name of my blog on a whim.  I knew I didn’t want to use my name, so I went with some non-sensical names, having to do with books I had read.  Simply Classic was the name of my favorite Junior League cookbook… so I borrowed that name, not quite stealing, since I don’t think they have the trademark on the term.  Nevertheless it is a little lame on the “wow factor.”  Then the term “finding providence” had something to do with a book I had just read about finding providence and God’s faithfulness in your life… I think.  It must have been a great book, because now I’m not even sure of the name of it.  Fast forward 3+ years later and neither of those names have any real importance in my life.

3) Don’t be too hard on yourself.  I’d often find myself holding back, for fear of embarassing myself, or divulging too much personal information, when writing.  Instead, it should be a place to talk or write freely, and take risks.  Andrea, was it you who once wrote on your blog about a blog being a place where it’s okay to be brave?  Anyway, my new goal for this blog is to do what I want and take a “if you don’t like it, you don’t have to read it” approach.  I know I’m not a fantastic writer, or world-class photographer, and I have to remember that that’s okay.

So anyway, welcome.  For those who do stick around, thank you!  I appreciate anyone who does take the time to read what I’ve written or posted.

One thought on “what the heck am i doing, part II

  1. Pingback: what the heck am i doing? | theendofthealphabet

Leave a Reply

